James Taylor Quartet - 'Bumpin' On Frith Street' Vinyl LP

James Taylor Quartet - 'Bumpin' On Frith Street' Vinyl LP

Regular price £25.00 Sale

Bumpin' On Frith Street

Released in 2016
Standard 180g 33rpm Vinyl LP

During the Spring of 2015, The James Taylor Quartet played a sold out six show run at Ronnie Scott’s Jazz Club. Every night’s performance was recorded, the standout set being the late show on Friday 25th March. By this time any initial ‘red light fever’ had long dissipated and the musicians were fully settled in, performing at their best and concentrating on capturing the special relationship between the band and the Ronnie Scott’s audience.

The desire to return to a stripped-down approach means the band pare everything down to the essence. There were no horns or percussion, just James Taylor on Hammond C3, guitarist Mark Cox, bassist Andrew McKinney and drummer Pat Illingworth, a line-up now solid for over three years.

There was no set list - the band don't use them - they just watch the audience, see how the music connects and take it from there. The songs that made the final cut are four James Taylor originals and four from the source - Jimmy Smith, Jack McDuff, Joe Sample and Gene Ammons.

Bumpin’ On Frith Street is a tip of the hat to Soho, the home of Ronnie Scott’s and ground zero of UK Jazz music. If you can’t get to Soho this record may just be the closest thing to being there.

A1. Parallelo
A2. Proctor Quod Et Deus
A3. Duffin Round
A4. Song For My Dad
B1. Rootdown
B2. Never In My Wildest Dreams
B3. Sweet Revival
B4. Jungle Strut

James Taylor - Hammond C3 organ
Mark Cox - guitar
Andrew McKinney - bass
Pat Illingworth - drums

Open drop down