Dwight Trible - 'Ancient Future' Vinyl LP
Dwight Trible - 'Ancient Future' Vinyl LP

Dwight Trible - 'Ancient Future' Vinyl LP

Regular price £25.00 Sale

Ancient Future


Release Date: 17th March 2023

180g 33rpm Black Vinyl LP

Dwight Trible announces new album “Ancient Future” out 17th March via Gearbox Records + Shares new single “Truth”

Album features special guests Kamasi Washington, Georgia Anne Muldrow, Greg Paul, Megashia Jackson, G. E. Stinson, Andrew Gouché, John Beasley, and Rene Fisher

Today, the inimitable jazz vocalist, activist, and nominal godfather of the LA jazz scene, Dwight Trible, returns with the announcement of his new album “Ancient Future”. Out 17th March via London jazz aficionados and analog specialists Gearbox Records , the new record follows his critically acclaimed album “Mothership”, which was released in 2019 and saw him collaborate with the likes of Kamasi Washington, Mark de Clive-Lowe, Miguel Atwood-Ferguson, and more.

On “Ancient Future”, Trible collaborates once again with Kamasi Washington (saxophone), as well as lauded LA multi-instrumentalist Georgia Anne Muldrow (vocals), who is signed to Brianfeeder and has previously worked with the likes of Madlib, Denzel Curry, Mos Def, Blood Orange, and Brittany Howard.

Elsewhere, the record also features double Grammy winning pianist, John Beasley; Kamaal Williams touring drummer Greg Paul; gospel bassist Andrew Gouché; percussionist and backing vocalist Megashia Jackson; LA guitarist G. E. Stinson; and percussionist Rene Fisher.

To mark the announcement of the new album, Trible has released a new single titled “Truth”. Combining cosmic electronic idiosyncrasies and keys with frenetic drumming, and avant-garde guitars, the track sees Trible
flit between passionate spoken word and shamanic-like soulful outbursts, the track sees his songwriting evolve into new musical territory without losing his undeniably unique style.




1. Truth

2. My Stomping Ground

3. Beach Vibes

4. Derf Reklaw


5. Elements

6. Black Dance feat. Georgia Anne Muldrow

7. African Drum feat. Kamasi Washington

8. Wind


Dwight Trible; vocals

John Beasley; piano and keyboards

Andrew Gouché; electric bass guitar

Greg Paul; drums and percussion

G. E. Stinson; electric guitar

Megashia Jackson; percussion and background vocals on ‘African Drum’

Rene Fisher; percussion on ‘African Drum’

Kamasi Washington; tenor saxophone on ‘African Drum’

Georgia Anne Muldrow; vocals on ‘Black Dance’

All lyrics written by Dwight Trible and Megashia Jackson

Produced by Darrel Sheinman

Recorded at Sunset Sound Studio, Los Angeles

Engineered by Clint Welander, assisted by Zach Zajdel

Mixed by Hugh Padgham at Platoon Studio, London

Mastered by Caspar Sutton-Jones at Gearbox Records, London

Open drop down