Bastien Keb - 'The Killing of Eugene Peeps' CD

Bastien Keb - 'The Killing of Eugene Peeps' CD

通常価格 £15.00 販売中

The Killing of Eugene Peeps

Release date: 9th October, 2020

Replica Mini LP-Style Sleeve CD

A soundtrack to an imagined film...

Bastien Keb presents his third album, 'The Killing of Eugene Peeps', an ode to Giallo, 70s crime flicks, and French new wave cinema. Befit with downbeat anti-ballads, psychedelic folk, and warped soliloquies, the music is an imagined score to a film that exists only in the mind. Sequenced like a film narrative, songs like 'Lucky (The Oldest Grave)', 'Rabbit Hole', 'Alligator' and mid-album rap tangent 'Paprika' call to mind key, set-piece moments. Evocative instrumental passages shift and link moods and themes between them; from brief minimal-jazz meanders ('Murmurs'), psychedelic funk ('Street Clams') to ethereal romanticism ('All That Love In Your Heart').

A guitarist first and foremost; Keb also plays trumpet, bass, drums, piano, flute and more - many borrowed, donated or found instruments. All the music you hear on 'The Killing of Eugene Peeps' is played live, recorded, engineered, produced and mixed by Keb. Layering his voice to imaginative effect, you may hear influences of Bon Iver or Jai Paul but in truth it’s more indebted to the widescreen soul of The Impressions or The Delfonics. Kenneth Viota, Claudia Kane, Cappo and Camille Limoges contribute a supporting cast of voices across the album.

What people say about Bastien Keb

"A new kind of spaced out jazz music" - Gilles Peterson

“One of the most exciting musicians emanating out of London at present.” - Dummy Mag

“Plenty of aural goodness” - The Ransom Note

“There’s a gluey analogue warmth to his productions which flow into each other with effortless charm.” - The Vinyl Factory


1 Main Title
2 Lucky (Oldest Grave)
3 Rabbit Hole
4 God Bless Your Gutters
5 Theme For An Old Man
6 Can't Sleep
7 All That Love In Your Heart
8 Young Ponies
9 Street Clams
10 Paprika (Featuring Cappo_
11 Israel Ate His Own Mind
12 Bookie 
13 The Clerk
14 Murmurs
15 The Trains Don't Keep Me Up Now
16 Lucky (Reprise)
17 Alligator 
18 The World Creaks


Story by S. Jones
Narration Kenneth Viota
Produced by S. Jones
Mixed by Goetz Botzenhardt / S. Jones
Mastered by Caspar Sutton-Jones / Darrel Sheinman

All songs written/arranged/performed/recorded by S. Jones
All instruments played by S. Jones
2. Lyrics written by Will Morrison
7. Vocals written and performed by Claudia Kane
8. Additional vocals performed by Natalia Rowley
10. Vocals written and performed by Paul Adey
16. Vocals performed by Camille Limoges, lyrics by Will Morrison
18. Violins performed by Alex Judd

Front cover art by Will Morrison
Back cover photo by Natalia Rowley

Open drop down